Show/hide main menu


IoP academics secure top NIHR Senior Investigator status

02 March 2010

Two leading academics from the Institute of Psychiatry, King’s College London, have welcomed their official appointment this week to the National Institute of Health Research (NIHR) College of Senior Investigators.

Vice-Dean of the IoP, Professor Til Wykes and Professor Theresa Marteau have joined ten more academics from the IoP who make up 203 Senior Investigators nationwide.

To be recognised as an NIHR Senior Investigator, an academic must reach rigorous criteria, to be at the forefront of national research into patient and social health and care.

Dean of the IoP, Professor Shitij Kapur, said: 'I would like to express my congratulations to Til and Theresa.  This is a well-deserved honour. Those of us who know their work find this recognition only natural, but, it is great that the NIHR is now formally recognising their contributions and their potential to do even more.'

The announcements were made today by Professor Dame Sally C. Davies, Director General of Research and Development at the Department of Health, at the NIHR London Regional Research Conference.

The new recruits were part of 40 to be welcomed to the NIHR College of Senior Investigators.

IoP staff who currently hold NIHR Senior Investigator status include;

Professor David Clark

Professor Anthony David

Professor Philippa Garety

Professor Matthew Hotopf

Professor Martin Knapp

Professor Simon Lovestone

Professor Robin Murray

Professor Graham Thornicroft

Professor Simon Wessely

Professor Elizabeth Kuipers

For more information on Senior Investigators, please follow the link:



Sitemap Site help Terms and conditions  Privacy policy  Accessibility  Modern slavery statement  Contact us

© 2024 King's College London | Strand | London WC2R 2LS | England | United Kingdom | Tel +44 (0)20 7836 5454