Show/hide main menu


Professor Elizabeth Kuipers awarded MB Shapiro Award 2010

17 May 2010

Elizabeth Kuipers, Professor of Clinical Psychology and Head of the Department of Psychology at the Institute of Psychiatry (IoP) King’s College London (KCL), received the MB Shapiro award for 2010 given by the Division of Clinical Psychology Awards Committee of the British Psychological Society (BPS).

The MB Shapiro award was created in 1984 by the BPS in honour of Monte Shapiro, to celebrate outstanding clinical psychologists at the later stage of their career. Monte Shapiro was a gifted clinical psychologist who worked at the IoP and the Maudsley from the late1940s and developed the ‘scientist practitioner model’.

Professor Shitij Kapur, Dean and Head of School, at the IoP, KCL said: 'I would like to offer my congratulations to Professor Kuipers on behalf of everyone at the Institute of Psychiatry. This award follows on from the tremendous contribution that Professor Kuipers has made to promote basic science discoveries, innovative healthcare and the rapid translation of research into patient benefits.

'Furthermore, she follows a long line of psychologists from the IoP who have received this honour, which is a reflection of the world class calibre of scientists we have here.'

Professor Kuipers came to work at the IoP in 1977, and has been a member of the Psychology Department since 1982. She was made a Fellow of the British Psychological Society in 1991, and given a newly established Chair in the Psychology Department in 1998. She was interim Head of Department 1999/2000, Acting Head of Department 2004/5, and Head of Department from May 2006.

She is a Chartered Consultant Clinical Psychologist, with an honorary appointment in the South London and Maudsley NHS Trust (SLaM) where she works part-time in a support and recovery adult mental health community team in South Southwark. She is a Director of the Centre for Psychological Therapies for Psychosis at SLaM, with Professor Philippa Garety.

Notable IoP academics who have previously received the award include Professor William Yule (1993), Professor Philippa Garety (2003), Professor Dave Hemsley (2004) and Vice-Dean of the IoP, Professor Til Wykes (2009).



Sitemap Site help Terms and conditions  Privacy policy  Accessibility  Modern slavery statement  Contact us

© 2024 King's College London | Strand | London WC2R 2LS | England | United Kingdom | Tel +44 (0)20 7836 5454